micro Listen Live!

"There has always been a unique spirit that has infused the music of Sam Roberts Band, which is comprised of guitarist and vocalist Sam Roberts, lead guitarist Dave Nugent, keyboardist Eric Fares, bassist James Hall, and drummer Josh Trager. It's highlighted by melodies that are infectious, lyrics that are deep and somewhat enigmatic, but memorable, and a live show that just plain rocks. The music of Sam Roberts Band isn't always easy to categorize either. It's been often lumped in with other alternative or alternative rock bands, but there is also a substantial 1980s melodic rock vibe, mixed in with the best of 1990s Brit Pop." (Jim Barber)

Canadian singer-songwriter Sam Roberts released his debut EP The Inhuman Conditionin2002, following a popular independent demo recording of Brother Down he had mad eat home. Born in Montreal, QC to South African immigrants, he had been a violin player, surrounded by a vast range of musical influences, who eventually moved on to guitar and started a rock band with friends. The Inhuman Condition became the best-selling independent EP in Canadian history and included a re-recorded version of Brother Down and the chart topper Don't Walk Away Eileen. In 2003 he released his first full-length album, We Were Born in a Flame. Where Have All The Good People Gone and Hard Road became hit singles across radio and video charts. The Certified Double-Platinum selling album was a huge hit in Canada and won the Juno Award for Album of the Year, Rock Album of the Year, and Artist of the Year.

Roberts continued to release hit albums: Platinum-certified Chemical City in 2006 and Gold-certified Love At The End Of The World in 2008, the latter winning Junos for Artist of The Year, and Rock Album of the Year.

For the 2011 release of Collider, Roberts changed the artist billing from using his name to using Sam Roberts Band. In 2014,Lo-Fantasywas released to great acclaim. Lead single We're All In This Together reached the top of both Canadian rock radio charts, followed by Top 10 hits Human Heat and Shape shifters. In 2016,Terra Form's lead Single If You Want It reached #2 at both rock radio charts. This sixth studio album was nominated for the Rock Album Of the Year at the 2017 Juno Awards. To fan acclaim, We Were Born In A Flame Deluxe Edition, was released in 2018,which included previously unreleased tracks on Three LPs and CDs. The original release reigns #94 on Billboards' Top 150 Overall Canadian Albums (by album sales)

.In 2018, Sam Roberts joined Chris Murphy (Sloan), Menno Veerstag (Hollerado), and Dave Monks (Tokyo Police Club) to form the band, Anyway Gang. Their September 2019 debut single, Big Night was written by Roberts and spent 26 weeks on the Canadian Rock charts, peaking at #6. The trackreached#1 on the Alternative chart and was awarded a Socan #1Award. Their self-tilted album Anyway Gang followed on November 29, 2019.

On October 16, 2021, Sam Roberts Band released their seventh studio album All Of Us, amidst the global pandemic, an album that came to fruition after three years of writing. Ascension, the lead single, reached #7 on Rock Radio ,while All Of Us spent three weeks at #1 at CBC Radio and as of February 2021,Take Me Away is charting at top twenty.

Return To


Visit Website
© Copyright 2023 - Rock 95 Birthday Bash